Cataloguing and Metadata

Terms of reference
The Cataloguing and Metadata Section addresses current issues of interest and importance for bibliographic cataloguing and metadata related to music resources of all types and in any medium. The Section develops IAML’s official positions on bibliographic control of music materials; participates in maintaining and revising international standards for descriptive and subject cataloguing and for electronic transmission of bibliographic data; shares information from the various IAML communities about recent news, information, best practices, etc.; considers other such issues as may be requested by the IAML Board. The Section may establish communication with similar units in other library organizations, at the national or international level, either directly or through IAML bodies. It will also work with other IAML groups considering issues concerning cataloguing and metadata.

Summary of the business meeting 14-15 Oct 2021.

Ongoing projects include:

  • Participate in the ISBD Review Group as liaison from IAML.
  • Consult with the Project Group on RISM Series C on MARC21 authority revisions for updating the Directory of Music Institutions.
  • Improve usability of the medium of performance area in the new IFLA namespace, especially the technical aspect of multilingual data structure / display.

Future projects:

Completed projects include:

  • Migrated the code lists for musical forms and medium of performance from a relational database to the new IFLA namespace -- completed 2020
  • Linked each IFLA medium of performance code to an LCMPT term -- completed 2019
  • Plaine and easie code version maintained by the International Association of Music Libraries and the Répertoire International des Sources Musicales
  • Working Group on the Exchange of Authority Data. Chair — work ended 2011
  • Working Group on Music Ontologies — work ended 2011
  • Working Group on ISBD and Music — work ended 2008
  • Working group on Core Bibliographic Record for Music and Sound Recordings — 1994 - 1998

The Section oversaw the following sub-commissions:


2021 - 2024

Chair: Kimmy Szeto (Baruch College, City University New York)
Vice Chair: Christopher Holden, Library of Congress
Secretary: Kyla Jemison, University of Toronto
Representative to the Permanent UNIMARC Committee: Maria Aslanidi, Ionian University

Past officers: 

2017 - 2021:
Chair: Frédéric Lemmers, Belgium (chair) - Kimmy Szeto, USA (vice chair), Christopher Holden, USA (secretary)

Joseph Hafner, Canada (chair) - Daniel Paradis, Canada (vice-chair) - Anders Cato, Denmark (secretary)

2011 - 2014:
Joseph Hafner, Canada (chair) - Geraldine Ostrove, USA (vice-chair) - Anders Cato, Sweden (secretary)

2008 - 2011:
Antony Gordon, UK (chair) - David Sommerfield, USA (vice-chair) - Joseph Hafner, Canada (secretary)

2005 - 2008:
Antony Gordon, UK (chair) - David Sommerfield, USA (vice-chair) - Joseph Hafner, Canada (secretary)

2002 - 2005:
Alison Hall, Canada (chair) - David Sommerfield, USA (vice-chair) - Jaako Tuohiniemi, Finland (secretary)

1999 - 2002:
Anders Cato, Sweden (chair) - Sherry Vellucci, USA (vice-chair) - Christina Koch, Sweden (secretary)

Materials presented in the sessions

Année: 2021

Année: 2018

Année: 2017

Année: 2016

Année: 2014

Année: 2008

Année: 2007

Année: 2005


English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish