Libraries in Music Teaching Institutions

Terms of reference
The Libraries in Music Teaching Institutions Section focuses on topics of special interest to librarians working in educational establishments that teach music, providing an international platform to communicate, exchange knowledge and discuss all aspects of music libraries embedded in music teaching institutions. Working in collaboration with other IAML Sections, Groups and Committees where areas of interest intersect, principal areas of discussion include, but are not limited to, improving information literacy in students and staff, supporting and facilitating research, and promoting awareness of library collections.


The section usually has two sessions during the annual congress. One of them is often a joint session with another Institutional Section. For example the first session in Sydney was held together with the Public Libraries Section and dealt with the interaction between these two types of libraries.

The second session in Sydney had “Ethnomusicology in Conservatories” as the theme. Other issues recently presented were “Artistic Research”, “Rare Collections in Conservatories” and Bibliography in Conservatories”.

Find below, under "Activities," the result of the international questionnaire, “Networking and access to music collections”, with links to web sites and online catalogues of several music teaching institutions around the world. This questionnaire was carried out by Jane Gottlieb, Federica Riva, and Yasko Todo. The results were published in 1998 and were presented at  the IAML conference in San Sebastian (see  Fontes 46/1-2, p. 147-148).

Link to the LIMTI wiki page for projects, discussions, and documents:



2021 - 2024

Chair: Charles Peters (William & Gayle Cook Music Library, Indiana University, Bloomington)
Vice-Chair: Carla Williams (Ohio University)
Secretary: Aris Bazmadelis (School of Music Studies Library, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)

Past officers: 

2017 - 2021:
Charles Peters, USA (chair) - Ilvi Rauna, Estonia (vice-chair) - Aris Bazmadelis, Greece (secretary)

2014 - 2017:
Johan Eeckeloo, Belgium (chair) - Ilvi Rauna, Estonia (vice-chair) - Claire Kidwell, UK (secretary)

2011 - 2014:
Johan Eeckeloo, Belgium (chair) - Birgitta Sparre, Sweden (vice-chair) - Claire Kidwell, UK (secretary)

2008 - 2011:
Pia Shekhter, Sweden (chair) - José Carlos Gosálvez Lara, Spain (vice-chair) - Johan Eeckeloo, Belgium (secretary)

2005 - 2008:
Anne Le Lay, France (chair) - José Carlos Gosálvez Lara, Spain (vice-chair) - Pia Shekhter, Sweden (secretary)

2002 - 2005:
Anne Le Lay, France (chair) - Yasuko Todo, Japan (vice-chair) - Angela Escott, UK (secretary)

1999 - 2002:
Federica Riva, Italy (chair) - Yasuko Todo, Japan (vice-chair) - Angela Escott, UK (secretary)

1996 - 1999:
Federica Riva, Italy (chair) - Yasuko Todo, Japan (vice-chair) - Jane Gottlieb, U.S.A. (secretary)

Materials presented in the sessions

Année: 2023

Année: 2019

Année: 2018

Année: 2017

Année: 2016

Année: 2011


English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish