Public Libraries

Terms of reference

The Public Libraries Section focuses on the interests of people working with music materials in public libraries; examines the trends, developments and concerns facing public music libraries and librarians; and fosters communication between public music librarians around the world. It meets these goals through such activities as presentations, discussion and information exchange at congresses and other conferences, library visits, electronic communication, and projects shared through the section web page.

It is important to learn about each others views and experiences. As Section we would also be able to grow and mature as international Section . In order to achieve that we organise a Work meeting at each IAML conference that is open to all librarians in Public libraries attending the conference.
Officers for the Section are nominated each 3 years at the annual conference. The officers organise and present the activities for the Section, including the yearly sessions at a IAML conference and other activities during the year.


Past projects


2021 - 2024

Chair: Blanka Ellederová (Municipal Library of Prague, Czech republic)
Vice-Chair: Ilona Heinonen (Tampere Library, Finland)
Secretary: Niels Mark (Odense Musikbibliotek, Denmark)

Past officers: 

2017 - 2021:
Blanka Ellederová, Czech Republic (chair) - Carolyn Dow, USA (vice-chair) - Sebastian Wilke, Qatar (secretary, 2019-2021)

2014 - 2017:
Carolyn Dow, USA (chair) - Hanneke Kuiper, Netherlands (vice-chair) - Birgitta Sparre, Sweden (secretary)

2011 - 2014:
Ann Le Lay, France (chair, 2011) - Carolyn Dow, USA (chair, 2012-2014) - Hanneke Kuiper, Netherlands (vice-chair) - Annika Simms, Sweden (secretary)

2008 - 2011:
Hanneke Kuiper, Netherlands (chair) - Julia Mitford, UK (vice-chair) - Anne Le Lay, France (secretary)

2005 - 2008:
Hanneke Kuiper, Netherlands (chair) - Kirsten Husted, Denmark (vice-chair) - Corinne Brun, France (secretary)

2002 - 2005:
Kirsten Husted, Denmark (chair) - Brigitte Geyer, Germany (vice-chair) - Eglė Stalionienė, Lithuania; Siren Steen, Norway (secretary)

1999 - 2002:
Kirsten Voss-Eliasson, Denmark (chair) - Brigitte Geyer, Germany (vice-chair) - Carolyn Dow, USA (secretary)

Materials presented in the sessions

Year: 2023

Year: 2018

Year: 2017

Year: 2016

Year: 2013

Year: 2012

Year: 2009


English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish