Broadcasting and Orchestra Libraries

Terms of reference

The Broadcasting and Orchestra Libraries Section exists to support the work of members who work in the libraries of broadcasting institutions and performing ensembles, and all librarians who deal with performance materials. Subjects within the Section’s remit relate to the day-to-day work of managing collections of performance materials, such as copyright, rental/hire of music, music publishing and new technologies. Whilst attending a congress the Section may take the opportunity to arrange a visit to a local broadcasting, orchestral or opera library.

Our sessions at the congresses always include a members' working session giving the opportunity to raise issues of concern to our section, offer support and share information. Some of the issues raised have been cataloguing software, digital distribution of notated music for performance, hire tariffs, copyright law, the effect of computer technology on the employment of copyists, relationships with other professional associations and collaborative initiatives within countries.

The open session features less technical topics and is intended for a broader audience; it often includes presentations by a major music publisher, usually covering the subject of music hire, by a local member who speaks about their own library, and matters of concern to them. We have also heard recently about the work of composer institutes (Martinu) and of MOLA, with whom we continue to foster close links.


2021 - 2024

Chair: Sabina Benelli (Teatro alla Scala, Milan)
Vice-Chair: Jutta Lambrecht (Westdeutscher Rundfunk Köln)
Secretary: Andreas Linne (Theater und Philharmonie Essen)

Past officers: 

2017 - 2021:
Sabina Benelli, Italy (chair) - Peter Linnitt, UK (vice-chair) - Tone Nøtvik Jakobsen, Norway (secretary)

Nienke de Boer, Netherlands (chair) – Peter Linnitt, UK (vice-chair) - Lena Nettelbladt, Sweden (secretary)

2011 - 2014:
Nienke de Boer, Netherlands (chair) – Jutta Lambrecht, Germany (vice-chair) - Sabina Benelli, Italy (secretary)

2008 - 2011:
Angela Escott, UK (chair) - Jutta Lambrecht, Germany (vice-chair) - Sabina Benelli, Italy (secretary)

2005 - 2008:
Jutta Lambrecht, Germany (chair) - Martie Severt, Netherlands (vice-chair) - Angela Escott, UK (secretary)

2002 - 2005:
Jutta Lambrecht, Germany (chair) - Peter Linnitt, UK (vice-chair) - Henry Larsson, Sweden (secretary)

1999 - 2002:
Kauko Karjalainen, Finland (chair) - Wynne Cole, New Zealand (vice-chair) - Marco Feklistoff, Sweden (secretary)

Materials presented in the sessions

Year: 2022

Year: 2019


English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish