Research Libraries

Terms of reference

The Research Libraries Section addresses topics related to the diverse kinds of research undertaken in music libraries by librarians, academics, and independent researchers. It promotes the research of librarians into the history and holdings of their own institutions, serves as a forum of discussion about how libraries can best facilitate the research of their users, and seeks to enquire into new ways in which music libraries can cooperate with universities and other research institutions in the exploration of their collections.


The Section usually sponsors two paper sessions at the annual conference. Occasionally a third session is jointly organised with another section or committee. Each session represents a particular theme of interest to research libraries, e.g. musicological or music library research, digitisation projects dealing with research materials. Sessions might also reflect a regional theme related to the host country. Reports on the sessions held at each conference are published in Fontes Artis Musicae.


2021 - 2024

Chair: Ruprecht Langer (Deutsche Nationalbibliothek Leipzig)
Vice-Chair: Eva Neumayr (Archiv der Erzdiözese Salzburg / Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum Salzburg, Austria)
Secretary: Ewa Hauptman-Fischer (University of Warsaw Library, Music Department)

Past officers: 

Thomas Leibnitz, Austria (chair) - Friederike Grigat, Germany (vice-chair) - Darwin Scott, USA (secretary)
2014 - 2017:
Thomas Leibnitz, Austria (chair) - Friederike Grigat, Germany (vice-chair) - Kerstin Carpvik, Sweden (secretary)

2011 - 2014:
Jim Cassaro, USA (chair) - Thomas Leibnitz, Austria (vice-chair) - Kerstin Carpvik, Sweden (secretary)

2008 - 2011:
Stanisław Hrabia, Poland (chair) - Thomas Leibnitz, Germany (vice-chair) - Almut Boehme, UK (secretary)

2005 - 2008:
Joachim Jaenecke, Germany (chair) - Stanisław Hrabia, Poland (vice-chair) - Almut Boehme, UK (secretary)

2002 - 2005:
Joachim Jaenecke, Germany (chair) - Stanisław Hrabia, Poland (vice-chair) - Thomas Leibnitz, Austria (secretary)

1999 - 2002:
Ann Barbara Kersting-Meuleman, Germany (chair) - Liesbetj Hoedemaeker, Netherlands (vice-chair) - Aurika Gergeležiu, Estonia (secretary)

Materials presented in the sessions

Year: 2023

Year: 2022

Year: 2018

Year: 2017

Year: 2016

Year: 2014

Year: 2013


English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish