

1

Membership Committee, Report 2017

Members: Jane Gottlieb, chair (US), Kathy Adamson (UK), Evan Baker (US), Stefan Engl (Austria), Massimo GentiliTedeschi (Italy), Kathleen Haefliger (US), Katie Lai (Hong Kong), Cheryl Martin (Canada), Anna Pensaert (UK), Marian Ritter (US), Chris Scobie (UK), and Bonnie Woelk (Canada).

Jane Gottlieb took over as chair of this committee at the 2016 Rome meeting, in her capacity as IAML Vice-President. In this role she will also liase with the Outreach and Advocacy Committees. All three groups will have a joint meeting at the Riga conference in Latvia.

The Membership Committee's brochure "Why Belong to IAML" (prepared under the leadership of prior chair Jim Cassaro), was edited and distributed at the joint MLA/IAML Pan-American conference in Orlando, Florida, February 22 – 26, 2017.

The committee has been newly charged to explore membership in national branches (and other national library organizations), and their relationship to international IAML. It will also seek to further diversify its own committee membership to ensure balance of distribution of national branches.