

1

Membership Committee, Report 2018

Members: JeongYoun Chang, Chair (South Korea), Pia Shekhter (Sweden), Thomas Kalk (Germany), Kathy Adamson (UK), James Cassaro (US), Alexandros Charkiolakis (Greece), Jane Gottlieb (US), Katie Lai (Hong Kong), Anna Pensaert (UK), Christopher Scobie (UK), Bonnie Woelk (Cananda).

JeongYoun Chang took over as Chair of the Membership Committee at the Leipzig meeting 2018. At this meeting, there were discussions about how to promote IAML efficiently to attract new members to the Association, including making a IAML video clip, and using the Membership Committee's brochure, "Why belong to IAML" (prepared under the leadership of the previous Chair Jim Cassaro, edited and distributed at the joint MLA/IAML Pan-American conference in Orlando, Florida, February 22 – 26, 2017). Benefits of membership and closer cooperation with other committees is needed as well.

The committee also held a meeting with the Advocacy and Outreach Committees. The Membership Committee began managing the mentor/mentee program in 2018. At this joint meeting the committees discussed improvements using feedback from Leipzig congress. These three committees agreed to closer cooperation.

JeongYoun Chang, Chair